Aorist question

The best topics from Languages & Linguistics, kept on a permanent basis.
brandrinn
Avisaru
Avisaru

Aorist question

Post by brandrinn »

It's been a while since i studied any Greek (or any other language that uses this aspect), so i've forgotten what exactly the aorist is. Wikipedia just said it was identitcal to the perfect. is this true? if not, what is the difference between the aorist and the perfective?

MUBA
Niš
Niš

Post by MUBA »

http://www.vandale.nl (Van Dale is the most populair Dutch dictionary):
ao?ris?tus (de ~ (m.), -ti)
1 [taalk.] tijd van het werkwoord die de handeling voorstelt als plaatshebbend in het verleden, maar zonder gedachte aan voltooiing of voortduring
Rougly translated (I'm not sure if I translated it correctly):
tense of the verb which presents the action as taking place in the past, but without mentioning completion or continuation
I hope this helps you.

brandrinn
Avisaru
Avisaru

Post by brandrinn »

MUBA wrote: tense of the verb which presents the action as taking place in the past, but without mentioning completion or continuation
isn't that just a tense? how is aorist an aspect, if this is true?

MUBA
Niš
Niš

Post by MUBA »

brandrinn wrote:isn't that just a tense? how is aorist an aspect, if this is true?
Dunno, to be hosest. The dictionary says "tijd van het werkwoord".

Well.
Werkwoord - verb
het - the
van - of
tijd - literally: time. But since verbs don't have time, I think it should be translated as tense.

brandrinn
Avisaru
Avisaru

Post by brandrinn »

oh well. thanks MUBA. can anyone support or reject this?

gach
Avisaru
Avisaru

Post by gach »

brandrinn wrote:
MUBA wrote: tense of the verb which presents the action as taking place in the past, but without mentioning completion or continuation
isn't that just a tense? how is aorist an aspect, if this is true?
Aorist has many meaning depending of the lang. It's used kind of as a trash bin term, if you don't know what to call a verb form call it aorist.