Page 3 of 3

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:01 am
by Alfar
1) They write python as well. It's doable, but definately not preferable.

2) That depends on the implementation of the parser. Right now, it's line based, and thus I can't exactly ignore all whitespace.

3) Yes, people not acting consistently tends to break code. Not changing tabs into spaces is preferable in my mind, though, since I like to be able to decide how far indented the code is, even when looking at other people's code.

I've been burnt by spaces and tabs in python, especially when copying code from a forum, so I'm not totally enamored with the python way, just noting that it's not entirely as ludicrous as you seemed to make it out to be.

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:48 am
by faiuwle
Nortaneous wrote:1. A lot of people use notepad or nano or whatever to write code, so it's probably bad to have syntax that's inconvenient for people using minimal editors. Hell, I know a lot of people who do most of their code in ssh sessions, which pretty much means nano (no features), vi (eugh), or emacs (bloated as all hell). Although this thing is probably GUI-only anyway so I guess that's not applicable here.
If you don't have a decent command-line invoked text editor on a linux box, you're doing it wrong.

As for tabs and spaces, I almost never tab, even though I've got my editor set to convert tabs to spaces. Hitting space twice is not a big deal - heck, you do it every time you type an English sentence, too.

(OTOH, if it's going to be a pain to implement something like this, don't feel like you have to do it that way.)

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 4:36 pm
by Torco
Dude, I tried posting in your forums [which are as crowded as post-volcanic pompeii] and it didn't let me. I means really, post having to be approved before publishing? drag!

Posted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:09 pm
by Alfar
Aye - that does seem pretty draconian. I pretty much just installed the forum software and left it at that, so it had its default settings, meaning that you'd be a new user until you had posted three messages (all of which would have to be approved)

I think I've managed to disable that feature so posts should be approved automatically, though I'll have to test it.

As for the syntax, I'll see what I can do - What I'm planning is implementing a new parser that'll read the text as you type, which should make syntax highlighting relatively simple. It might be able to render the script according to different standards then, as well, so if you want python-style, it'll work with that, and if you want the brackets, it'll do that. Can't say if it'll work out entirely as I'm hoping, but it seems plausible to me so far. ;)

Posted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:10 pm
by Torco
yay !

Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:29 pm
by Torco
so... is this moving ? :D

Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:02 pm
by Alfar
Torco wrote:so... is this moving ? :D
Not a whole lot to be honest. I've been playing around with other stuff lately, and hit a bit of trouble with the parser, mostly because I'm too stubborn to change something that needs changing, I guess. I wanted to be able to parse the file by using a forward only reader, but it looks like I have to be able to backtrack for python-like syntax to work. Probably not a biggie, just a bit of pride to swallow ;)

On the positive side, I've been writing unit tests for the parser as I went along, so hopefully I'll be able to change things around inside it without breaking stuff.

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:40 pm
by Alfar
Ok, thanks to the prod from Torco, I actually started moving on this once more.

I'm working my way through the commands - I have to re-work the parsing of each command, and I'm writing a bit of unit testing for loading them at least.

In positive news, I have syntax highlighting that looks to be working reasonably well, but the python syntax is slightly wonky atm.

Also, I've lost comment support, it seems. Missed it somehow in the second implementation... heh ;)

I'll try to have a release some time next week.

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:48 pm
by Torco
NAAAAAAAAAIS

Posted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 3:29 pm
by Alfar
It's definately getting closer.

I still need to handle token expansions ( the 5[a b] type of thing ), and comments as well, but at least I have all commands loading correctly now, it seems.

Image

This is what it looks like so far. Syntax coloring is v. fast on my test documents, haven't tried a huge one yet, tho.[/img]

WordBuilder 3.0.0

Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:37 am
by Alfar
Okay, I think it should be working now, so I'm hereby releasing WordBuilder v3.0.0

Download at: http://whee.dk/wordbuilder/gtkwordbuilder-3.0.0.zip

It's a simple zip file with an exe and a dll. As with the previous GTK version, you'll need GTK# installed.

To my knowledge, it runs equally well on .NET and Mono.

The new things I've added are:

- Syntax highlighting
- Support for c-style brackets (so you can drop the { to a line of its own) and ; line enders
- Support for python-style blocks (use two spaces or one tab for each level of indentation)

In order to do this, I had to rewrite the parser, so it is now much more flexible and I think I'll be able to add IntelliSense and contextual help and such to the UI in time.

Now I think it's time to do some clean up of the old code, but first, a commit to the GIT repo.

Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:54 pm
by Alfar
Hey guys,

just a quick check in to note that I've borrowed a mac book from a friend and have successfully run gtk WordBuilder on it, so it is possible at least.

I've started work on a cocoa version, but I'm not making any promises - this .Net to Cocoa interface seems kind of flaky.

Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:56 pm
by tezcatlip0ca
Alfar wrote: ludicrous
LUDICROUS + I = RIDICULOUS.

Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:00 am
by Torco
/me is checking it out

..

nope, it just chrashes when I try to run it... what happened to the fancy installer thing? the last version worked fine for me

Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 6:43 am
by Alfar
The installer faded into the background when I started work on the GTK version. You need GTK-sharp for it to work with windows. I may decide to rebuild the Windows version using "real" .NET, since I now have both a GTK UI for linux and a cocoa UI for Mac... I dunno. I may also be able to distribute GTK-Sharp inside the zip file, haven't tested that.

But yeah, I might have a working mac version right about now. it's working on this mac, at least, and it even seems that I can compile it in a way so that you don't even have to install mono on your mac to run it. Will have to get someone to test that theory for me.

Here's the supposedly native (intel) version: http://whee.dk/wp-content/cocoawordbuilder.zip

Here's the mono-required version: http://whee.dk/wp-content/cocoawordbuilder-mono.zip

Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:36 pm
by su_liam
Mac version crashed for me first try. Started up fine. I loaded my vargr.wordo from my ntfs volume and when I tried to generate words...CRASH!

I created a copy of my wordo on my hfs volume and... smoooth sailing. Looks like wordbuilder needs write permission on the wordo document to generate words and macos can't write to ntfs. It can read ntfs and fat32, but it can only write to fat32.

So anyway, it works on my mac. It sounds like I'll have to download something to get it working on windows again. Wish me luck...

Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:32 am
by Alfar
su_liam wrote:Mac version crashed for me first try. Started up fine. I loaded my vargr.wordo from my ntfs volume and when I tried to generate words...CRASH!

I created a copy of my wordo on my hfs volume and... smoooth sailing. Looks like wordbuilder needs write permission on the wordo document to generate words and macos can't write to ntfs. It can read ntfs and fat32, but it can only write to fat32.

So anyway, it works on my mac. It sounds like I'll have to download something to get it working on windows again. Wish me luck...
That's pretty funky... I don't see why it should need write permission for anything, as my code isn't actively writing anything to disk unless you specifically ask it to.

As for the windows version, hmm... I should really make a windows version, but there are a few things I want to try with the mac version - making it work more like a mac app with documents, for example. Also, I think I should be able to test out the problem you've found with ntfs, since I do have a windows dual boot on this machine. It's a loaner, though, so I have limited time with it, which makes making the mac version work my top priority right now.

I've also been thinking about ways to make the app more useful. Exporting to a format that ConlangDictionary can use could be good, of course. I guess the CSV format is a start.

How about being able to process an existing list of words? Import a word list, run a script (for example using the translate command to make sound changes?), then reexport?

Also, I've thought of some way to generate words based on a root word, which would allow me to generate 100 variations of the word for knife, and use those as words for different kinds of knives. Not sure how that would work, so throwing the idea out to maybe get some input.

Posted: Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:52 pm
by su_liam
It may just me doin' something wrong, but every time I try to use Translate, the mac version crashes out.

Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 1:33 am
by Alfar
Grakkh! could you send me your script? I've used translate successfully, but only tested with very simple stuff.

arne@whee.dk