Questions about Elenicoi and Oikumene

Questions or discussions about Almea or Verduria-- also the Incatena. Also good for postings in Almean languages.
Mr. Z
Avisaru
Avisaru

Questions about Elenicoi and Oikumene

Post by Mr. Z »

1. Does anybody in Almea still know Greek?
2. For how long was Greek preserved in Almea before it died out?
3. Did anybody in Almea ever know a terrestial language other than Greek?
4. What is the etymology of the name "Oikumene"?
5. How much do Almeans know about Earth?
Přemysl wrote:
Kereb wrote:they are nerdissimus inter nerdes
Oh god, we truly are nerdy. My first instinct was "why didn't he just use sunt and have it all in Latin?".
Languages I speak fluently
English, עברית

Languages I am studying
العربية, 日本語

Conlangs
Athonian

Exez
Sanci
Sanci

Re: Questions about Elenicoi and Oikumene

Post by Exez »

4. Greek Οικουμένη which is a name for the inhabited world, and means 'she who is inhabited'. I don't know whether the particular name was the standard name for 'world' in the Greek of that era. I have seen the word in modern times only in poetic context.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ecumene

In any case, the modern Greek name for 'world' is /kosmos/ and for 'earth' is /ge/

Legion
Avisaru
Avisaru

Post by Legion »

Hm, those are really pronounced [kozmos] and [ʝi], in modern Greek.

Exez
Sanci
Sanci

Post by Exez »

Indeed, I provided the transcription

zompist
Boardlord
Boardlord

Post by zompist »

Mr. Z wrote:1. Does anybody in Almea still know Greek?
2. For how long was Greek preserved in Almea before it died out?
3. Did anybody in Almea ever know a terrestial language other than Greek?
4. What is the etymology of the name "Oikumene"?
5. How much do Almeans know about Earth?
1. Yes, grammars were written by Eleďi, to allow consultations of the Greek NT/OT. (This is of only minor utility, though, since there is no other corpus to draw on for comparison.)