Speaker's/Author's tone

Substantial postings about constructed languages and constructed worlds in general. Good place to mention your own or evaluate someone else's. Put quick questions in C&C Quickies instead.
shockandawe232
Niš
Niš

Speaker's/Author's tone

Post by shockandawe232 »

Being this is my first post on here let me introduce myself a little first. I'm a college student studying history who recently got into fiction writing, science fiction mostly, but also I do some political,religious and sports blogging. Getting into writing i decided to learn more about fiction writing and got multiple how to books on fiction writing, but I realized I didn't know all that much about the science fiction genre so i started looking for books on writing specifically science fiction. One of the books that came up on my search on amazon was The Language Construction Kit. Creating fictional languages? While I had read the Lord of the Rings and being a quasi-treki -- I like watching the show but have no desire to try and read Hamlet in Klingon -- I have watched plenty of Star Trek, I had never heard of or even considered that there was such a thing as conlanging. I know I'm a genius, I must have thought the creaters of star trek went and talked to a bunch of klingons or something to learn it. Anyway, the plot i had been working on was a scifi spy novel, and was looking into learning some cryptography to use in the story, but that wasn't too appealing to me. Then I came across Mark's book and an idea clicked, I remembered the code talkers from WWII and liked the idea of a conlang that very very few people know being the secure means of communications (no universal translator) in the novel, so I got the book.