The price of using magic in a conworld

Substantial postings about constructed languages and constructed worlds in general. Good place to mention your own or evaluate someone else's. Put quick questions in C&C Quickies instead.
Sansato
Niš
Niš

The price of using magic in a conworld

Post by Sansato »

If a fantasy world is inclined to use magic and treat it as a sort of tool (much like Harry Potter or most video games I can think of), then it would probably make more sense to put some sort of limitations on what can be done with magic and how magic ultimately affects the user and the world around them. One of the ideas outlined in the PCK is the notion that the use of magic comes at a price, implying that excessive and repeated use of magic could have potentially devastating consequences for either the individual user alone, for society as a whole, or even for the entire conworld itself. As a noob, I can't and don't claim to know anything about anything, but something about this notion strikes me as both sinister and intriguing. Part of me wants to integrate a magic system that comes at a rather hefty toll to the user into a fantasy world, primarily out of curiosity. In fact, I've actually got a sketch of a related idea that I'm willing to share.