French lessons

Discussion of natural languages, or language in general.
Legion
Avisaru
Avisaru

French lessons

Post by Legion »

Introduction: I though I'd make a thread of French lesson, because I may have an original perspective on the language which might benefit some people, or may not. I have no experience with teaching anything, so if you have questions or claims on the form of this course, do not stay silent.

This thread can also be a good place to ask me any precise question about a point of French grammar.

It goes without saying (but it goes better when saying it) that what I will teach will be mostly based on my dialect (which however is relatively standard) and on my own perspective on the language.

That said…

Lesson I: the sounds of French

1) Consonants

According to my own analysis, French has the following inventory of consonants:

Occlusives: /p b t d k g/
Nasals: /m n ɲ (ŋ)/
Fricatives: /f v s z ʃ ʒ/
Approximants: /l j/
Other: /ʁ/

A recording of the consonants (each is pronounced in onset then in coda, except /ŋ/, which is pronounced only in coda).

—As with other Romance languages, and unlike most Germanic languages, /p t k/ are not aspirated and /b d g/ are fully voiced.
—Many speakers do not have a /ɲ/ phoneme distinct from /n/ + palatal glide. For those speakers, "se magner" /səmaˈɲe/ to hurry up (colloquial) and "se manier" /səmaˈnie/ to be handled are homophonous. I don't have this distinction myself, and it can generally be ignored, as there are few minimal pairs, but I will still mark it in the transcription. When this distinction is absent, what should be sequences of /ɲ/ + /i/ tend to be realised as [ni]: "magnifique" magnificent [maːniˈfik]. This can also happens before non-palatal glides: "baignoire" bathtube > [bɛːˈnuaːʁ̞].
—/ŋ/ is found only in loanwords (eg: "parking" /paʁˈkiŋ/ parking lot), and some speakers substitute it with the sequence /ng/, realised [ŋg].