Are there other voices apart from Act./Pass./Antipassive?

Discussion of natural languages, or language in general.
ebilein
Niš
Niš

Are there other voices apart from Act./Pass./Antipassive?

Post by ebilein »

I was just wondering wheter there are other voices apart from the probably already by you all well known active, passive and antipassive. As far as I know, these are used to reduce the number of obligatory arguments of a verb, thus from the sentence "He's reading the book" we get the passive "The book is being read" and in Ergative languages (although I would say by no means I'm an expert in those) we get from the sentence "He eats a sausage" the antipassive "He eats".

My question in particular is, are there languages which also used a voice to get rid of the Agens but retain both Indirect and Direct Object? The only good example I can think of would be the sentence "He gives her a book", which, of course, in "normal" passive becomes "A book is given to her".

Are there languages which would have some kind of Indirect-Object-Passive, thus a voice that could produce from the example above the sentence "She receives a book"?

Xephyr
Avisaru
Avisaru

Re: Are there other voices apart from Act./Pass./Antipassive

Post by Xephyr »

Questions like these always confuse me.. questions along the lines of "How many cases are there?" or "What other voices are there?"... Do you mean how many are attested in natlangs, or how many there are possible? The answer to the latter is extremely high, and the answer to the former isn't necessarily that easy to answer either, because the "dative case" or "passive voice" in one language may not be the same in another. For instance, K'iche' Maya has 2 passive voices.