Plurality in Arabic

Discussion of natural languages, or language in general.
Mr. Z
Avisaru
Avisaru

Plurality in Arabic

Post by Mr. Z »

I'm learning Arabic, but I am still at a basic level. However, I am very interested in how Arabic forms plural nouns. I checked some singular and plural nouns and it seems that Arabic changes the vowels to create the plural form, but it is different in each noun. So, can anybody tell me more about the plural form in Arabic? My teacher won't tell me anything. :?
Přemysl wrote:
Kereb wrote:they are nerdissimus inter nerdes
Oh god, we truly are nerdy. My first instinct was "why didn't he just use sunt and have it all in Latin?".
Languages I speak fluently
English, עברית

Languages I am studying
العربية, 日本語

Conlangs
Athonian

linguoboy
Sanno
Sanno

Re: Plurality in Arabic

Post by linguoboy »

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broken_plu ... _in_Arabic

The so-called "sound plurals" are very straightforward and regular, your teacher will probably introduce them shortly.

Mr. Z
Avisaru
Avisaru

Post by Mr. Z »

Thanks. But my teacher already told me there is a long time until plurals. We are still at the basics, and we are focusing more on vocabulary and writing.
Přemysl wrote:
Kereb wrote:they are nerdissimus inter nerdes
Oh god, we truly are nerdy. My first instinct was "why didn't he just use sunt and have it all in Latin?".
Languages I speak fluently
English, עברית

Languages I am studying
العربية, 日本語

Conlangs
Athonian

linguoboy
Sanno
Sanno

Post by linguoboy »

Mr. Z wrote:Thanks. But my teacher already told me there is a long time until plurals. We are still at the basics, and we are focusing more on vocabulary and writing.
In that case, the sound plurals are -īn for masculine nouns as -āt for feminine ones. (If a feminine noun ends in -ah--as most of them do--this is dropped before adding -āt, e.g. madīna "town" > madīnāt "towns".

There's also a dual ending, but it belongs to the formal written language.

masako
Smeric
Smeric