Language Instruction in Different Countries

Discussion of natural languages, or language in general.
Mr. Z
Avisaru
Avisaru

Language Instruction in Different Countries

Post by Mr. Z »

I was wondering about the integration of language instruction in different countries, and was hoping I could here more from people here.

In Israel, there is obligatory English education from the 3rd grade. You can also learn Arabic or French in high school, though some schools only give one choice, or none at all (I assume).
Přemysl wrote:
Kereb wrote:they are nerdissimus inter nerdes
Oh god, we truly are nerdy. My first instinct was "why didn't he just use sunt and have it all in Latin?".
Languages I speak fluently
English, עברית

Languages I am studying
العربية, 日本語

Conlangs
Athonian

Astraios
Sumerul
Sumerul

Re: Language Instruction in Different Countries

Post by Astraios »

In the UK it varies by school. At my primary school we learnt French from Year 2 upwards, and there were optional Spanish and Latin classes - whereas at my friend's primary school they only did German from Year 4 to Year 6.

In high school, it started off as:

-- Study French or German from Year 7 to Year 9
-- Pick one of Chinese, Russian, Italian, Spanish, French, or German as a second language in Year 8
-- Study at least one language in Year 10 and Year 11

... and I did German and Chinese, but by the time I left, it had become:

-- Study six weeks each of French, German, Spanish and Chinese in Year 7
-- Pick one of them to study from Year 8 until Year 11.

Shrdlu
Avisaru
Avisaru

Post by Shrdlu »

In Sweden, you start learning English the day you begin school. Later on you can choose to learn either, Spanish, French or German
If I stop posting out of the blue it probably is because my computer and the board won't cooperate and let me log in.!

vec
Avisaru
Avisaru

Post by vec »