Survey on language learning beliefs

Discussion of natural languages, or language in general.
Shm Jay
Avisaru
Avisaru

Survey on language learning beliefs

Post by Shm Jay »

Gulliver
Avisaru
Avisaru

Re: Survey on language learning beliefs

Post by Gulliver »

Done!

Gojera
Lebom
Lebom

Post by Gojera »

Done!

Ser
Smeric
Smeric
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia / Colombie Britannique, Canada

Post by Ser »

Done!

Also, it just made me realize that it's soon gonna be 5 years since I started learning Mandarin. And it's still as shitty as shit. Makes wanna cry.

It'd be cool to see all the tips at the beginning of section 3 put together, but whatever. I gave my e-mail so I may at least get to see some of the results that Ron Keen got.

Viktor77
Sumerul
Sumerul

Post by Viktor77 »

Done! That was long.

My tips were:

1. Learn phonetics before learning grammar.
2. Force yourself to speak, even if to yourself.
3. Obtain a knowledge of general grammar before learning a foreign language.
Falgwian and Falgwia!!

Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum videtur.

Cathbad
Avisaru
Avisaru

Post by Cathbad »

Done - very interesting indeed! Although I forgot to mention that a basis in linguistics helps enormously, in all fields... but maybe that's kind of self-evident. :P

Gulliver
Avisaru
Avisaru

Post by Gulliver »

Cathbad wrote:Done - very interesting indeed! Although I forgot to mention that a basis in linguistics helps enormously, in all fields... but maybe that's kind of self-evident. :P
I'm not sure how true I think this is… I don't think any explicit knowledge of linguistics makes much of a difference beyond the very early stages. I mean "gender does not mean boys and girls, it means noun class" might be helpful… but more generally, I'm not too sure.

Åge Kruger
Lebom
Lebom

Post by Åge Kruger »

I thought the tips were for learning many languages, so I didn't give any, but if I were give to give tips on how to learn any language, I would say: