Four questions about the Agentivity Hierarchy

Discussion of natural languages, or language in general.
Particles the Greek
Lebom
Lebom

Four questions about the Agentivity Hierarchy

Post by Particles the Greek »

zompist, on page 120 of the ALCK, wrote:In Algonquian languages, when you have multiple third person referents, one must be foregrounded by using PROXIMATE markings, and the others are backgrounded by using the OBVIATIVE.
1. Does this also hold for the (admittedly rare) situations where you have multiple second person referents?

2. Is it reasonable to see in the proximate-obviative distinction the beginnings of a nom/acc or erg/abs distinction, which can later be generalised from third person referents to everything else?
Non fidendus est crocodilus quis posteriorem dentem acerbum conquetur.

Zaarin
Smeric
Smeric

Re: Two questions about the Agentivity Hierarchy

Post by Zaarin »

I'm by no means an expert on Algonquian languages, but they are among the Native American languages which I have casually surveyed so perhaps my answers may be somewhat helpful.

1. I would expect not. The Algonquian languages, like many North American languages, distinguish two sets of third person pronouns, the proximate and obviative (the latter often called "fourth person" pronouns). Some languages distinguish inclusive and exclusive second person pronouns, but I don't think the two sets are related as many languages around the world have one but not the other.

2. Again, I would expect the answer to be no. Many North American languages have third/fourth person pronouns as I said, some are nom/acc, some are erg/abs, and some are something else (like Nez Perce's tripartite alignment).

This is just my opinion from casual observation, however, so take it with a grain of salt.
"But if of ships I now should sing, what ship would come to me,
What ship would bear me ever back across so wide a Sea?”

----
Smeric
Smeric

Post by ---- »