Explaining sound change?

Discussion of natural languages, or language in general.
Grey
Sanci
Sanci

Explaining sound change?

Post by Grey »

Hello all, it's been a while since I've been to the ZBB; college got in the way and the military keeps me fairly busy. In that time, conlanging has fallen to the wayside, and though I dabbled in reading some interesting grammars here and there, I haven't managed to properly understand sound changes.
More specifically: I want to understand how to apply sound change to conlanging. I have both the LCK and the ALC, and have read the wiki article several times, so I might just be overthinking it. Regardless, I have a few questions for you fine people if you happen to have the time to spare.

1: I understand that sound changes will occur when criteria is met ( A = B under conditions C always). How complex can these conditions be? Most examples I've seen are pretty straightforward, but I'm no expert.

2: This is more of a personal opinion, but how many rules should I be looking at using at one time with the SCA? Do sound changes typically trigger further sound changes? If for instance, I include a sound change similar to the Anglo-Frisian law, can I expect further shifts to happen in some fashion? This is really where my trouble understanding comes from.

3: Would it be semi-realistic to place new roots into the SCA and apply later changes to them? For clarification: I'd like to intersperse new roots into the language to mimic borrowing from another language, is it realistic to skip a set of sound changes, and apply later ones to them?

4: Are there more/less common sound changes that occur? If so, where can I read about them? I am aware of the wiki for historic examples, but I'm asking more for general trends and I don't expect an in-depth answer to this, but perhaps your favourite sound changes for inspiration.
[quote="bricka"]
You aren't even using "as the LORD intended" as the LORD intended.[/quote]

Zaarin
Smeric
Smeric